Marie

I’ve known Marie for as long as my memory goes back. I can’t remember a time she wasn’t with me. We’ve been best friends for what seems like forever. She’s the sister I never had. She’s my twin flame. She’s an extension of myself. Marie is everything I’m not; tall, blonde, pretty. She is smart, and is quiet when we’re in public, when I’m loud and dull. She’s so quiet she wasn’t mentioned in our yearbook back in high school.

Marie always knows what to say. She feeds me words of wisdom. I base my decisions off of Marie’s words. Marie is wise beyond her years. Her stories are fantastic, and colorful.

Marie isn’t afraid to hold back; she speaks her mind. She tells me she doesn’t like most people in our town, and that’s fine because most people in town don’t like us. In fact, I think people are afraid of Marie. Often I’ll meet people in town,and they’re friendly enough, but when I introduce Marie, they become terrified. We’ve become outcasts, but that’s okay, because who better to be an outcast with than your best friend?

My parents think Marie is a bad influence. They hate when she comes over, in fact they beg her to leave. My mom is even cried because Marie comes over. They’ve banned her from the house, but a lot of times Marie will sneak over anyway (how, I don’t know).

Sometimes Marie and I fight, and it hurts me to my core. She’ll insult me, and tear me down. She’ll egg me on, and I always take the fall for her wrong doings, even if I don’t want to. But in the end it doesn’t matter, because she will always be my best friend.

A month ago we had a big fight, and my mother over heard. She screamed at Marie to go, to leave me alone, but she doesn’t understand I’d be lost without Marie! She brought me to the hospital after Marie left, I was suicidal, and I needed help. The hospital helped, and I’ve been seeing help for almost three weeks. But Marie won’t come around.

I miss her, despite our fights. I miss her help. I feel lost without her.

I went for a walk around town the other day, asking people if they’ve seen her. But she’s gone, as if she’s vanished. Nobody in town knows what I’m talking about. Now, I’m thinking it wasn’t Marie everyone was afraid of; I think everyone is afraid of me.

Leave a Reply

